Vykintas Baltakas: Commentum

  • for violoncello and piano
  • Duration: 10’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Vykintas Baltakas
  • Dedication: für David Geringas und Ian Fountain
  • Commission: Commissioned by Vilnius Festival / Philharmonie Vilnius

Work introduction

“commentum: ‘comment, interpretation, invention, fabrication, fiction’, in classical Latin; neut. pp. of comminisci ‘to contrive, devise’, from com-, intensive prefix + base of meminisse (to remember).

Commentum is a free rendition of Chopin’s Introduction after listening to it again. Without any alterations, predilections and attempts at ‘modernisation’, but rather like a spontaneous expression of one’s personal opinion.

It was written for David Geringas and Ian Fountain as a commission from the Vilnius Festival.”

(Vykintas Baltakas)

World première 2 June 2011 at the Vilnius Festival.


World première

Lithuanian National Philharmonic, Vilnius (LT)
Main soloists:
David Geringas, vc; Ian Fountain, pno

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works