Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: The Magic Flute (arranged by: Alexander Krampe)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart The Magic Flute
The Magic Flute

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: The Magic Flute (arranged by: Alexander Krampe)

Catalogue number:
KV 620
Year of composition:
version for children
Scored for:
for solos and ensemble
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Alexander Krampe (2012)
Emanuel Schikaneder
von Musikern gesungen
1 1 1 1 - 1 0 0 0 - pno (+b.d), kb glsp (+trgl; played by the conductor), vln(2), vla, vc, cb
Instrumentation details:
clarinet in Bb
horn in F
keyboard glockenspiel (+trgl
played by the conductor)
piano (+b.d)
1st violin
2nd violin
double bass
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

This opera is a parable about love and friendship, fidelity and stalwartness, elevated by Mozart’s music to become one of the most beautiful true myths – and what could be truer than a myth? – in the history of the world.

This version reduces the original’s large cast to eight characters, scenically and musically fulfilling the story of Prince Tamino and his beloved Pamina and the adventures awaiting them. Of course, congenial Papageno is the ideal choice to narrate and to ally with those in the auditorium …

The substantially reduced dialogues largely use set pieces from the original; above all, it is the childlike yet astute tone of Emanuel Schikaneder’s text which, together with the music, forms a coherent entity and which, moreover, retains the compelling power of immortal poetry, beyond any specific temporality.

The musical arrangement adheres to the original score’s precepts. The large-scale, chamber-musical euphony from the 11-member orchestra gives the impression of a complete operatic experience, including a multitude of sonic nuances. (Percussion instruments are played by the pianist and the conductor).

Mozart’s Magic Flute is inestimably precious in humanity’s cultural heritage – just as it is self-evidently familiar in the ears of every child.

Alexander Krampe

Translated by Grant Chorley

World première

Aula der Universität, Salzburg (AT)
Elisabeth Fuchs
Main soloists:
Es singen Solisten des Young Singers Project.

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.