COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Wolfgang Rihm: 4. Abgesangsszene

  • for mezzo-soprano and orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 2 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, pno, str(14 12 10 8 6)
  • Duration: 15’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C (+bass tpt in C)
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    piano (+cel)
    violin I(14)
    violin II(12)
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Text author: Friedrich Nietzsche
  • Commission: Kompositionsauftrag des Radio-Symphonieorchesters Berlin

arrangements & translations

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Berlin (DE)
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Hans Zender
Main soloists:
Marjana Lipovšek, MezzoS

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works