Wolfgang Rihm: Am Horizont

  • Stille Szene (1991)
  • for violin, violoncello and accordion
  • Duration: 5’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Dedication: Mauricio Kagel zum 60. Geburtstag

License for the use of music in films

Work specifications


Information on the film

Please, check again the information supplied by you.

We will send you an offer for a license agreement specifying ourt terms and conditions.
It is at UE discretion to grant you a permission on basis of the information supplied by you.
The transmission of your request does not represent a claim to the grant of a license.

Work introduction

Dedicated to Mauricio Kagel on his 60th birthday, this work requires the three instruments to be positioned as far as possible from one another on the stage, transmitting quiet messages to one another from the distance. Most of them consist of one, sustained pitch, then a little more – but the music remains extremely transparent and airy, pianissimo and triple-piano (apart from a few triple-fortes and triple-forte sforzati). Rihm describes the end like a dream, the violinist making a silent, beckoning gesture and the other players cupping their hands to their harkening ears.

Translation © 2012 by Grant Chorley


World première

Philharmonie Köln, Köln (DE)
Main soloists:
Saschko Gawriloff, Vl, Siegfried Palm, Vc, Teodoro Anzellotti, Akk

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works