Wolfgang Rihm: Am Horizont

  • Stille Szene (1991)
  • for violin, violoncello and accordion
  • Duration: 5’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Dedication: Mauricio Kagel zum 60. Geburtstag


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

Dedicated to Mauricio Kagel on his 60th birthday, this work requires the three instruments to be positioned as far as possible from one another on the stage, transmitting quiet messages to one another from the distance. Most of them consist of one, sustained pitch, then a little more – but the music remains extremely transparent and airy, pianissimo and triple-piano (apart from a few triple-fortes and triple-forte sforzati). Rihm describes the end like a dream, the violinist making a silent, beckoning gesture and the other players cupping their hands to their harkening ears.

Translation © 2012 by Grant Chorley


World première

Philharmonie Köln, Köln (DE)
Main soloists:
Saschko Gawriloff, Vl, Siegfried Palm, Vc, Teodoro Anzellotti, Akk

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works