COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Wolfgang Rihm: Chiffre IV

  • for bass clarinet, violoncello and piano
  • Duration: 9’
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Dedication: Für die Hamburgische Staatsoper und die Bayerische Vereinsbank

Work introduction

The composer’s commentary is on Page 1: “The musicians perform cognizant that they are playing a piece for small orchestra.” The music is transparent, repeatedly with long sustained pitches and interrupted by long pauses. Fundamentally, it consists of accents and short motifs growing from pianissimo to triple forte. Bar 22 is a typical example; the bass clarinet and cello begin pp, and a crescendo leads to fff for the bass clarinet’s next pitch, while the cello plays fff and sfffz simultaneously, the piano providing the same accent. That instrument has a sfffz chord in the next bar, followed by the cello playing a sfffz pizzicato – the bass clarinet is silent. Once again, Rihm has written highly dramatic music.

Translation: Grant Chorley


World première

Hamburg (DE)
Main soloists:
Wolfgang Meyer, Kl, Susanne Eychmüller, Vc, Bernhard Wambach, Klav

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works