Wolfgang Rihm: Die Eroberung von Mexico

  • Opera (1987-1991)
  • 3 4 4 1 - 3 3 3 1 - timp, perc(5), hp, pno, e.org, e.bass(2), vln(2), vla(2), vc(6), cb(4) - wind machine
  • Duration: 120’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+picc)
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in A
    2nd clarinet in A
    3rd clarinet in A
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    contrabass tuba
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    4th percussion
    5th percussion
    electric organ
    1st electric bass
    2nd electric bass
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    1st viola
    2nd viola
    1st violoncello
    2nd violoncello
    3rd violoncello
    4th violoncello
    5th violoncello
    6th violoncello
    1st contrabass
    2nd contrabass
    3rd contrabass
    4th contrabass
    choir-tape: 1st clarinet in A
    2nd clarinet in A
    3rd clarinet in A
    4th clarinet in A
    electric organ
  • Choir: Bewegungschor (als Spanier, Azteken, Tier und Mensch ... Doubles...), vom Tonband: SATB (auch Sprechchor, Flüsterchor)
  • Roles: Montezuma, dramatic soprano Cortez, baritone A screaming man Malinche, the interpreter, silent, dancing in the orchestra: 1 very high soprano, 1 alto, 2 speakers
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Librettist: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Antonin Artaud
  • Translator: Brigitte Weidmann
  • Table of contents:
    Die Eroberung von Mexico

Stage performances

Please, check again the information supplied by you.

We will send you an offer for a license agreement specifying ourt terms and conditions.
It is at UE discretion to grant you a permission on basis of the information supplied by you.
The transmission of your request does not represent a claim to the grant of a license.

Work specifications

Contact person


The fields marked with * are required

Work introduction


Sample pages

Next performances

World première

Hamburg (DE)
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg
Ingo Metzmacher
Main soloists:
Richard Salter - Cortez; Renate Behle - Montezuma; Miriam Goldschmidt - Malinche; Peter Kollek - Der schreiende Mann

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works