COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Wolfgang Rihm: DIES

  • Oratorio (1984)
  • for soprano, alto, tenor, baritone, 2 speakers, children's choir, speaking choir, mixed choir, organ and orchestra
  • 4 4 4 4 - 8 9 7 2 - timp(2), perc(8), org, str(considerably sized) - in the distance: tpt(3), tbn(3)
  • Duration: 35’
  • Soloists:
    soprano, alto, tenor, baritone, 2 speakers
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+picc)
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    4th flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    4th oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb
    4th clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    4th bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    8th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C
    5th trumpet in C (+high trumpet)
    6th trumpet in C (+high trumpet)
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    1st contrabass tuba
    2nd contrabass tuba
    percussion (8 players: 4 in the orchestra, 4 in the auditory)
    violin I
    violin II
    in the distance: trumpet(3)
  • Choir: SATB
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Text author: Leonardo da Vinci
  • Dedication: Luigi Nono gewidmet
  • Commission: Kompositionsauftrag des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Wien (AT)
ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien
Lothar Zagrosek
Main soloists:
Agnes Habereder, S; Klára Takács, A; Robert Gambill, T; Roland Hermann, Bar; John Brandstetter, Bar; Alexander Goebel und Jost Meyer, Sprecher; Wiener Sängerknaben

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works