Universal Edition - David Sawer – From Morning to Midnight

David Sawer

David Sawer
From Morning to Midnight

Year of composition: 1998-2001
Subtitle: Opera in 7 scenes
Composer: David Sawer
Text Source: after the drama "Von morgens bis mitternachts" by Georg Kaiser
Librettist: David Sawer
Parts: 3 S, MS, A, 3 T, 2 Bar, 1 B
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 3 2 3 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(4), hp, keyboard, strings - on stage players: cl, tpt, euph, tuba, perc(3)
Instrumentation details:
3 2 3 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timps, 4 perc, hp, keyboard, strings - on stage players: 1 cl, 1 tpt, 1 euph, 1 tuba, 3 perc
Commissioned by: Commissioned by English National Opera, with funds provided by the Britten-Pears Foundation
Duration: 100′
Please check your input!

  • Sawer David

  • From Morning to Midnight

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

From Morning to Midnight

World Première

Location: English National Opera London / Great Britain
Date: 27.04.2001
Orchestra: Orchestra of the English National Opera
Choir: Chorus of English National Opera
Conductor: Martyn Brabbins
Scenery: Richard Jones
Main Soloists: Kathryn Harries, Linda Kitchen, Susan Bickley, Heather Shipp, Gail Pearson, John Daszak, Mark Le Brocq, Fredrik Strid, Robert Poulton, Roderick Williams, Graeme Danby

Work Introduction

“His command of skills that brand-X composers take half a dozen operas to perfect is complete: dramatic shape and pace, the specific gravity of music-with-action. Structurally the piece is faultless. His musical language, very low on the squeaky-gate scale, need terrify no one: he loves his Debussy and Ravel (who doesn’t?) and has a nice line in some Prokofiev- style grotesquerie. Much more significant is the clarity of his musical thought: you know exactly why every note is there and what – operatically – it is for.” (Rodney Milnes, The Times)

full score - From Morning to Midnight

From Morning to Midnight
  • Edition type: full score

study score - From Morning to Midnight

From Morning to Midnight
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.