Universal Edition - David Sawer – Rebus

David Sawer

David Sawer

Year of composition: 2004
Scored for: for 15 players
Composer: David Sawer
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 1 - perc, pno, str(1 1 1 1 1)
Instrumentation details:
oboe (+c.a)
clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
bassoon (+cbsn)
horn in F
trumpet in Bb
percussion(1 player: marimba, glockenspiel, vibraphone, guiro 2 wood blocks, 3 temple blocks, triangle, sizzle cymbal, suspended cymbal, tam-tam, 2 bongos, tom-tom, log drum, small bass drum)
1st violin(1)
2nd violin(1)
Commissioned by: Auftragswerk der musikFabrik NRW und der Kunststiftung NRW.
Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • Sawer David

  • Rebus

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Großer Sendesaal des WDR Köln / Germany
Date: 27.06.2004
Orchestra: musikFabrik
Conductor: Stefan Asbury


The work uses fragments of dance music to create a Kafka-esque maze of sound that is both nerve-racking and beautiful (The Guardian)

Fascinatingly, it was like an eviscerated version of Ravel’s La Valse, constantly teasing us with fragments in dance rhythm (The Sunday Times)

study score - Rebus

  • for 15 players
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.