Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – School Music

Ernst Krenek
School Music

Opus: op. 85 [A]
Year of composition: 1938-1939
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Instrumentation details:

Table of Contents:
2 Themes by Handel op. 85. [A], a
Country Dance op. 85 [A], b
Flute Player's Serenade op. 85 [A], c
Sonatine op. 85 [A], d
Allegro sinfonico op. 85 [A], e
Rhapsody op. 85 [A], f
Ballade op. 85 [A], g
Nocturne op. 85 [A], h
Sarabande op. 85 [A], i
Lighthouse in the Sea op. 85 [A], j
Remarks: Alle Teilwerke der "School Music" sind einzeln erhältlich.
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Work Introduction

Ernst Krenek wrote School Music between 1938 and 1939, just after his flight from Vienna to the US. At the time the composer was increasingly seeking to gain experience as a teacher, not least because as a little-known musician in America, he saw teaching as the only opportunity to make a living. The efforts to find a suitable post were soon successful. Amongst various other activities, Krenek gave an overview of ‘modern music’ in the form of a lecture series with example demonstrations, while in a further course on composition he dealt with questions of twelvetone technique in greater detail. Though the students had only limited previous training in the subject they were evidently extremely interested in it. In autumn 1938 he started writing pieces for various instruments that seemed suited to practical work with students. In these works the ambition to come as close as possible to the past artistically was accompanied by the desire to find a form of interpretation in composition and playing technique that is appropriate to one’s own time. Krenek’s aim was the ‘development’of the ‘facility for musical understanding’ and, not least, the ‘awakening of the enjoyment’ of such ‘musical understanding’. The ten pieces assembled under the title School Music were thus intended to support the individual student’s conscious analysis of music history through its various stages.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.