Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – 3 Orchesterstücke

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
3 Orchesterstücke

Year of composition: 2006/2010/2011
Subtitle: (I. Berceuse céleste - II. Intermezzo - III. Tombeau)
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 4 3 4 3 - 4 4 4 1 - timp, perc(6), hp, cel, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
3rd clarinet in A
4th clarinet in A (+bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
5th percussion
6th percussion
violin I (8 desks)
violin II (7 desks)
viola (6 desks)
violoncello (5 desks)
double bass (4 desks)
Commissioned by: I. (Berceuse céleste, 2006) im Auftrag des SWR
II. (Intermezzo, 2010/2011) und
III. (Tombeau, 2011) im Auftrag des WDR
Duration: 40′
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • 3 Orchesterstücke

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Köln / Germany
Date: 07.02.2014
Orchestra: WDR SO Köln
Conductor: Jukka-Pekka Saraste

Work Introduction

I turned 80 in 2006 – an age at which one feels compelled to reflect upon how the world has changed during a long life, how one has also changed, and how one sees the world differently in the course of one’s life. I had the idea of three orchestra pieces in mind which would be connected with those thoughts.

Only the first one, Berceuse céleste, was realised in 2006. It is a simple piece, free from oppressive earthiness; it has something of a childlike naiveté, of an existence in which all experience is just beginning, which does not yet judge or separate into categories of values. It is mainly poised on a bright string sound, while the darker sides of this world are temporarily manifested in constructing and deconstructing figures in the brass.

Musically, this piece is diametrically opposed to No. III, Tombeau, which first began to take shape in 2010/2011. It is borne by the gradual, relentless events leading toward death, in which alteration, change wanes, leaving emptiness behind, and in which time ultimately ceases to be. Notwithstanding personal connotations, Tombeau is in fact a stringently structured piece. As with other works (e.g. the Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra), the organising principle I selected was a magic square ascribed to Mars in Arabic mysticism. (It consists of 25 fields numbered 1 through 25. The sequence of five fields always results in the sum of 65 in the most various of arrangements – horizontal, vertical, diagonal, etc. – and that determines almost consistently the pitches’ duration. The basis of the pitches themselves is the chromatic twelve-tone progression upwards, the octave pitches above and again the twelve-tone progression, this time downwards. That makes 25 pitches, corresponding to the 25 numbers of the magic square, which is therefore also the basis of the pitch organisation).

Notwithstanding its duration, I have given the name Intermezzo to the second piece, i.e. that which lies between the cradle and the grave; the title is meant somewhat satirically. It is a piece full of upswings, climaxes, agitations, fears, tensions, surprises and fractures – and among all these events ticks Time, unswerving in its forward stride, marked by short utterances of two coupled pitches which are often repeated in widely varied tone-colours and degrees of loudness.

Despite their differences, the other sections of the piece are based on a related, fundamental element and they occasionally share gestural similarity – one could think of “free variation” – yet they all refer to the same type of individual experience.

Friedrich Cerha

View the full score

study score - 3 Orchesterstücke

3 Orchesterstücke
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.