Universal Edition - Friedrich Cerha – Les Adieux (Elegie)

Friedrich Cerha

Friedrich Cerha
Les Adieux (Elegie)

Year of composition: 2005
Version: new version 2007
Scored for: for ensemble
Composer: Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation: 2 1 2 2 - 2 1 2 0 - perc(2), cel, pno, vln(2), vla, vc, cb
Instrumentation details:
clarinet in A
bass clarinet in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
1st violin
2nd violin
Duration: 22′
Dedication: Für das Klangforum Wien
Please check your input!

  • Cerha Friedrich

  • Les Adieux (Elegie)

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Les Adieux (Elegie)

World Première

Location: Tese delle Vergini Venedig / Italy
Date: 08.10.2007
Orchestra: Klangforum Wien
Conductor: Stefan Asbury

Work Introduction

The origin of my 2005 ensemble piece Les Adieux was a piano work, Elegie, dating from 1963. This is a work of contemplative character, whose essential principle is the opposition between spacious sounds – mostly played pianissimo – and rather short attacks. At the time the piece was intended as a rebellion against certain taboos of ‘new music’, such as the avoidance of consonant intervals and triads, as well as against the prevailing nervous hyperactivity. Les Adieux demands attentive listening to sustained notes and resonance chords of varying timbre, such as those produced by the piano’s ‘artificial pedal’ when keys are silently depressed before notes are sounded in another register.

The title Les Adieux refers on the one hand to the work’s meditative character and, on the other, to the fact that here I bid farewell – not without a certain wistful nostalgia – to certain conceptual formulae that have haunted me in recent years. These include: a combination of a fast melodic line containing brief repetitions of notes with a trill, which can be traced (admittedly far-fetched) back to the last two bars of the second of Webern’s Op. 14 Lieder, and which I had varied in a multitude of different ways; the pulsating reiteration of short spiccato notes for strings, such as appear characteristically in my recent Momenten for orchestra; or my delight in little figures consisting of notes of equal duration played in isolation. From all these I have taken my leave. In other respects, Les Adieux performs a function in my creative work similar to that which the piano piece Elegie did in its own time. It shares with the earlier work the alternation already described: between pianissimo sounds, during which one loses the sense of temporal succession, and short, weighty attacks whose suggestion of pulse reaffirms the experience of time’s passing – whereby the static element emerges as the work’s prevalent characteristic.

Friedrich Cerha

(Translation: Peter Burt)

study score - Les Adieux (Elegie)

Les Adieux (Elegie)
  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: study score

study score - Les Adieux (Elegie)

Les Adieux (Elegie)
  • for ensemble
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.