Universal Edition - Jay Schwartz – Delta – Music for Orchestra IV

Jay Schwartz

Jay Schwartz
Delta – Music for Orchestra IV

Year of composition: 2013
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Jay Schwartz
Instrumentation: 4 4 4 4 - 6 4 4 1 - perc(3), vln.I, vln.II, vla, vc, cb(5-stringed)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
4th flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
4th oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl)
4th clarinet in Bb (+bass cl)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
4th bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone (+t-b.tbn)
2nd trombone (+t-b.tbn)
3rd trombone (+t-b.tbn)
4th trombone (+bass tbn
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
violin I
violin II
Double bass (5-stringed)
Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag des Südwestrundfunks
Duration: 25′
Please check your input!

  • Schwartz Jay

  • Delta – Music for Orchestra IV

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Delta – Music for Orchestra IV

World Première

Location: Theaterhaus Stuttgart / Germany
Date: 08.02.2014
Orchestra: RSO Stuttgart
Conductor: Johannes Kalitzke

Work Introduction

Sketch DeltaIf music be composed of sound and time, it seems to me that the shaping of time is the greatest challenge facing a composer. Chronological motivation is, in my ears, the axiom of musical composition.

The fundamentals of western music, from its earliest stages to the present, are unquestionably motivated by a kind of magnetic field exuded by intervals, predominantly the unison, thus binding the vertical level (harmony) with the horizontal (time). It is the anticipation of intervals that creates tension in music and keeps the listener in a state of awaiting the release of this tension.

In my work I attempt to create a kind of harmonic magnetism by using sliding tones, called “glissandi”, where the pitch is ever changing, not by steps, but by gliding through the intervals. My compositions use these sliding tones to create structures, „drawing“ geometrical systems of lines and curves which are slowly channeled into various intervallic relationships, creating a system of tension and release.

Delta ∆ is the fourth letter of the Greek alphabet, and corresponds to the Latin letter “D”, as well as representing the number four. In science and mathematics the symbol delta ∆ is used to represent change or catalysation, standing for “diaphorá” in Greek, meaning difference, change or catharsis.

Delta – Music for Orchestra IV uses the actual shape of the sign ∆ as the formal structure of the composition. Slow upwardly gliding lines are positioned over the tone “D” spinning a long web of harmonies and overtones driving towards a “D” unison. The expectations are, however, interrupted by a catharsis.

For me, motivic based European music, from the Middle Ages to the present, is somewhat like a stroll through an English garden, where the senses are constantly being stirred by new and different scents and visual surprises. But in my own musical thought process I wish to create an experience based neither on rich motivic variety, nor on static stand-still, but rather on long slow forward motion. An ever changing dynamic teleological forward drive showing strong underlying intent to reach a goal. Perhaps one could say I am imagining more a flight over a vast landscape of dessert, mountains, and ocean, than an English garden landscape, whereby this metaphor is not intended to be programmatic and should not be understood as a visual basis for understanding the compositions, although one could speculate about the influence such landscapes had on my musical thought during my upbringing in the Southwest of the United States on the Pacific and in the deserts of New Mexico and Arizona.


It was as if the inner workings of the music were laid bare, but underpinned by a gripping sense of drama – somehow horrific in its relentlessness, yet fascinating at the same time. Pintscher drove the orchestra onwards with a sure sense of pacing in a work with few clear signposts in its restless textures, and had a keen ear for its microtonal subtleties, building to a shattering, ecstatic climax. Unforgettable. (David Kettle, theartsdesk, 10 January 2015)

View the full score

study score - Delta – Music for Orchestra IV

Delta – Music for Orchestra IV
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

full score - Delta – Music for Orchestra IV

Delta – Music for Orchestra IV
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.