Universal Edition - Johannes Maria Staud – Auf die Stimme der weißen Kreide

Johannes Maria Staud

Johannes Maria Staud
Auf die Stimme der weißen Kreide

Year of composition: 2014-2015
Subtitle: (Specter I-III)
Scored for: for large ensemble
Composer: Johannes Maria Staud
Instrumentation: 2 1 2 1 - 1 2 1 1 - perc(3), pno, vln, vln, 2 2
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc
alto fl
2nd flute (+bass fl
oboe (+c.a)
clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
bass clarinet in Bb
bassoon (+cbsn)
horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in Bb
tuba (+cimbasso)
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
piano (+3 cymbals)
1st violin
2nd violin
1st viola
2nd viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
double bass (5 string)
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Musica, festival international des musiques d´aujourd´hui and Ensemble Modern - Ein Auftragswerk von Musica, festival international des musiques d´aujourd´hui, und Ensemble Modern
Duration: 30′
Dedication: für Silvia und Oskar und meine Freunde vom Ensemble Modern
Please check your input!

  • Staud Johannes Maria

  • Auf die Stimme der weißen Kreide

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: France 3 Alsace Strasbourg / France
Date: 19.09.2015
Orchestra: Ensemble Modern
Conductor: Emilio Pomàrico

Work Introduction

Inspired by the texts by author Josef Winkler, who was motivated by the sculpture “The Specter of the Gardenia” by Marcel Jean to write an idiosyncratic, surreal monologue, Johannes Maria Staud has translated his poetic images fluctuating between anger and tenderness into a work for ensemble. “I have attempted to write instrumental music that is very much inspired by these verbal image fields, by these aphoristically evocative things.” (Johannes Maria Staud)

View the full study score

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Auf die Stimme der weißen Kreide

Future Performances

Location: Konzerthaus, Wien (A), Orchestra: Klangforum Wien, Conductor: Bas Wiegers

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.