Universal Edition - Julian Yu – Great Ornamented Fuga Canonica

Julian Yu

Julian Yu
Great Ornamented Fuga Canonica

Opus: op. 17
Year of composition: 1988
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Julian Yu
Instrumentation details:
2·2·2·2 - 4·2·3·0 - 3 perc - hp - pf - strings
Duration: 10′
Please check your input!

  • Yu Julian

  • Great Ornamented Fuga Canonica

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Great Ornamented Fuga Canonica, op. 17

World Première

Location: Hobart, Tasmania / Australia
Date: 21.09.1988
Orchestra: Tasmanian SO
Remarks: UK Premiere: 24 April 1989 BBC Symphony Orchestra, Oliver Knussen (conductor)

Work Introduction

The idea for this piece came to me in 1988 while I was engaged in some research into the evolution and development of melody in traditional Chinese instrumental music. I was fascinated by the richness and variety of ornamentation to which traditional Chinese melodies are subjected, and felt an urge to explore ways of transplanting some of these ideas into a composition of my own.

For my new material I chose the 'Fuga Canonica' from a Musical Offering by J. S. Bach. The perfect structure of Bach’s music provides a firm base upon which one can build. In this piece, Bach’s original Fuga Canonica is all there, albeit in augmented form: no notes are omitted, and they still bear the same proportional relations to each other. The only change is in the degree and nature of the ornamentation, and, as so often happens in Chinese folk music, this change has given rise here to a new piece of music whose origins are almost completely unrecognizable.

Julian Yu

Score – Great Ornamented Fuga Canonica

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: score
  • UE29363
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5935-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07622-0
EUR 42,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.