Universal Edition - Paul Patterson – Europhony

Paul Patterson

Paul Patterson

Opus: op. 55
Year of composition: 1985
Scored for: for chamber orchestra
Composer: Paul Patterson
Instrumentation details:
0 2 0 0 - 2 0 0 0 - str
Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • Patterson Paul

  • Europhony

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Europhony, op. 55

World Première

Location: Cardiff / Great Britain
Date: 11.06.1985
Conductor: Rudolf Wherton
Remarks: venue: St David's Hall performers: European Community CHamber Orchestra

Work Introduction

The unusual title of this work stems from the fact that it was commissioned by the European Community Chamber Orchestra for European Music Year 1985 with funds made available by the Arts Council of Great Britain.

I chose for my work a variation form to create a showpiece for chamber orchestra in many contrasting moods with a unifying theme. The piece lasts 16 minutes and falls into 9 sections: an opening theme, 7 main variations – each with having other variations within them – and a final codetta.

It opens with a tranquil statement of the theme on the oboe, then a link passage (which is also used as the final statement) leads to a fast highly-charged outgoing movement. A dramatic variation follows featuring bold exchanges which contrast loud with soft.

In variation 3 a gentle melody is heard in displaced waltz time. The next variation is for strings alone playing pizzicato throughout. Solo oboe and strings feature in the following nocturne. The sixth variation is a sort of ‘galop’ with fragments of the theme passed between oboes, and later in violins, in canon. Some double tonguing on the oboe leads straight into a ‘march grotesque’ which in turn leads to the brief codetta.

Paul Patterson

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.