Universal Edition - Sir Harrison Birtwistle – Cantata

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Year of composition: 1969
Scored for: for soprano and instruments
Composer: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Text Source: Grabinschriften, Sappho-Übersetzungen und andere griechische Texte
Text Editor: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Soloists: soprano
Instrumentation: fl, cl, glock, pno, vln, vc
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 11′
Dedication: to Jill and Robin (Yapp)
Please check your input!

  • Birtwistle Sir Harrison

  • Cantata

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Purcell Room London / Great Britain
Date: 12.06.1969
Orchestra: Pierrot Players
Conductor: Harrison Birtwistle
Main Soloists: Mary Thomas, S

Work Introduction

The text of the Cantata, composed in 1969 and dedicated to Jill-Robin, is by the composer and is based on tomb inscriptions and free translations by Sappho and other Greek poets. The composition has a marked aleatory character and in the score, Birtwistle prescribed that the refrain is to appear three times. Conductors are assigned the task of indicating the tempo, duration, legato, staccato dynamics to the players.

After its first performance Financial Times wrote that “through a masterful exploitation of the timbres of both voice and instruments, the composer achieves very interesting sonorities. This is particularly evident during the third and fourth ‘fragments’”.

Score – Cantata

  • for soprano and instruments: flute (piccolo), clarinet, violin (viola), cello, piano (celesta), glockenspiel
  • Edition type: score
  • UE15344
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4703-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04405-2
EUR 43,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.