Universal Edition - Steve Reich – Clapping Music

Steve Reich

Steve Reich
Clapping Music

Year of composition: 1972
Scored for: for 2 musicians clapping
Composer: Steve Reich
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 3–5'
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Clapping Music

Work Introduction

Late in 1971 I composed Clapping Music out of a desire to create a piece of music that would need no instruments at all beyond the human body. At first I thought it would be a phase piece, but this turned out to be rather inappropriate since it introduces a difficulty in musical process (phasing) that is out of place with such a simple way of producing sound. The solution was to have one performer remain fixed, repeating the same basic pattern throughout, while the second moves abruptly, after a number of repeats, from unison to one beat ahead, and so on, until he is back in unison with the first performer. The basic difference between these sudden changes and the gradual changes of phase in other pieces is that when phasing one can hear the same pattern moving away from itself with the downbeats of both parts separating further and further apart while the sudden changes here create the sensation of a series of variations of two different patterns with their downbeats coinciding. In Clapping Music it can be difficult to hear that the second performer is in fact always playing the same original pattern as the first performer, though starting in different places.

Clapping Music marks the end of my use of the gradual phase shifting process.

Steve Reich, “Writings about Music”

Steve Reich and Colin Currie on Clapping Music


Performing score – Clapping Music

An excellent rhythm school suitable for two players or two groups of players.

  • for 2 players
  • Edition type: performing score
  • UE16182
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1317-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04303-1
EUR 10,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Future Performances

Location: Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen, Gelsenkirchen (D), Orchestra: Neue Philharmonie Westfalen, Conductor: Rasmus Baumann

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.