Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – CON PIANO? CERTO!

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm

Year of composition: 2013/2015
Scored for: for piano and orchestra
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc(2), pno, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
violin I
violin II
double bass
Duration: 20′
Dedication: für Justin Brown
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang


  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe / Germany
Date: 23.06.2015
Orchestra: Badische Staatskapelle
Conductor: Justin Brown
Main Soloists: Frank Dupree, piano

Work Introduction

I wrote Über die Linie VIII for the city’s birthday – wonderfully premièred by Justin Brown conducting the Badische Staatskapelle on 8 March. It is a serious, far-reaching piece. As so often when I am working on a piece, its antitype stirs in me: an alternative, a different gestalt.

In this case it was a virtuosic concerto-like study, just over 10 minutes, developed entirely from the joy of playing. Yes, composers also “play” – not only on instruments but with the music itself. Those are then relatively amusing passages where knowledge and pertness play games. Strict seriousness can come at any moment out of the game with their opposites – or perhaps not?

Much remains hovering, although our concert piece here is quite vitally gymnastic. But most (of my) concert pieces are like that; the give the virtuoso his feed and yet remain at home in melancholy. With piano? Certainly!

Wolfgang Rihm

View the full score

study score - CON PIANO? CERTO!

  • for piano and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

full score - CON PIANO? CERTO!

  • for piano and orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.