Universal Edition - Wolfgang Rihm – Das Lesen der Schrift

Wolfgang Rihm

Wolfgang Rihm
Das Lesen der Schrift

Year of composition: 2001-2002
Subtitle: 4 pieces
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
Instrumentation: 2 1 2 2 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, hp(2), org, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
contrabass tuba
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
Commissioned by: ROC GmbH (Berlin)
Remarks: Das Werk kann als Brahms-Requiem-Zwischenspiele fungieren.
Duration: 17′
Dedication: für Kent Nagano und das Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester (DSO), Berlin
Please check your input!

  • Rihm Wolfgang

  • Das Lesen der Schrift

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Das Lesen der Schrift

World Première

Location: Philharmonie Berlin Berlin / Germany
Date: 16.03.2002
Orchestra: Deutsches SO Berlin
Conductor: Kent Nagano

Work Introduction

Jörg Königsdorf interviews Wolfgang Rihm:

Doesn't the intercession of a contemporary composer have the effect of pushing Brahms' musical language into the distant, historical past?

No.  It's as if there were four monochrome panels hanging in a Gothic chapel or, somewhat more colourfully, four large canvases by Anselm Kiefer. It was, in fact, Kiefer's Basle exhibition at the Fondation Beyeler  that provided me with some very important ideas and inspiration for the work at hand.  The original idea, however, goes back a long way: Das Lesen der Schrift refers to the process of decoding, gradually becoming aware of textual relationships encapsulated in symbols.  It can also be a metaphor of decoding a musical text.

Out of the murmurings of doubt I began moulding pieces of silence, baking  bits out of introversion and concealment, and came upon paths leading into the inaccessible – touching upon, if not actually depicting, the inner movement of a mourning process step by step.  And in doing so, I altered its form.  The four pieces add up to a self-standing composition, of course.  They don't necessarily have to remain bound to this rather daring one-off attempt to respond to – and simultaneously question – the great Brahms Requiem from the inside.

Sequence of Movements:

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
„Ein deutsches Requiem“ op. 45 (1868)
I. „Selig sind, die da Leid tragen“
II. „Denn alles Fleisch, es ist wie Gras“

Wolfgang Rihm (* 1952)
„Reading of the Scripts“ Four Pieces for Orchestra (2001/2002)
I. Piece No 1 (very slow)

Johannes Brahms
„Ein deutsches Requiem“ op. 45
III. „Herr, lehre doch mich“

Wolfgang Rihm
„Reading of the Scripts“
II. Piece No 2 (very slow)

Johannes Brahms
„Ein deutsches Requiem“ op. 45
IV. „Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen“
V. „Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit“

Wolfgang Rihm
„Reading of the Scripts“
III. Piece No 3 (calmly)

Johannes Brahms
„Ein deutsches Requiem“ op. 45
VI. „Denn wir haben hier keine bleibende Statt“

Wolfgang Rihm
„Reading of the Scripts“
IV. Piece No 4 (very calmly)

Johannes Brahms
„Ein deutsches Requiem“ op. 45
VII. „Selig sind die Toten“

View the full study score

study score - Das Lesen der Schrift

Das Lesen der Schrift
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.