COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Giovanni Maria Bononcini: 15 Dances

(Arranger: Siegfried Petrenz)

  • for 2 treble recorders and basso continuo
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 bass fl-A,cont.
  • Composer: Giovanni Maria Bononcini
  • Arranger: Siegfried Petrenz
  • Editor: Martin Heidecker
  • Basso continuo: Siegfried Petrenz
Web Cover

Printed product

Giovanni Maria Bononcini: 15 Dance Pieces for 2 treble recorders and basso continuo | UE18747

  • Edition type: score and parts
  • Series: Universal Blockflöten Edition
  • Grade: 2-4
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5408-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-00796-5
Product available


The present edition is based on a printed edition by John Walsh. lt appeared in London in 1705 und er the title: Bononcini's Aires for two Flutes and a Bass or two Flutes with out a Bass I the Aires consisting of Allemands, Sarabands, Gorants, Preludes, Gavottes and Jiggs with a Through Bass for the Harpsicord or Bass Viatin The 24 dance movements, which have been preserved in instrumental parts, are apparently transcriptions by Walsh and his associates. They are based on the sonata books for two vielins and bass. Because some of the pieces are flawed by apparent slips of the pen and probably mistakes in transposition as weil, only the numbers 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 12, 14, 17-19, 23 and 24 were selected for the present edition. The figured bass in the original is incomplete andin some cases questionable. lt could not be used as abasis forthe realisation of the basso continuo. ln order to provide an objective basis for players who are used to realising the bass themselves, it has been printed here unaltered.

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works