COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Alexander Zemlinsky: A Florentine Tragedy

  • Opera in 1 act (1916)
  • New critical edition by Antony Beaumont
  • 3 3 4 3 - 6 4 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp, cel, mand, str
  • Duration: 60’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    4th trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    percussion (2 players): xylophone, glockenspiel, triangle, cymbals, tam-tam, tambourine, snare drum, bass drum, sleighbells
    violin I
    violin II
  • Roles: Guido Bardi, tenor Simone, baritone Bianca, soprano
  • Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
  • Librettist: Max Meyerfeld
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Oscar Wilde
  • Thematic analysis: Felix Adler
  • Editor: Antony Beaumont
  • Translator: Edward Downes

Work introduction

One of the most outstanding operas of the first half of the 20th century can be seen again in its full glory: Alexander Zemlinsky’s gripping one-act Eine florentinische Tragödie, which the composer wrote in 1916 based on a drama by Oscar Wilde, has been subjected to years of critical revision by Antony Beaumont.

Starting with the original manuscript for the opera, Antony Beaumont has drawn on all existing sources to create the new critical edition, including the vocal distribution of the 1917 Prague production, which took place under the the composer himself. He compared the sources and removed technical errors, contradictions and inconsistencies. The many differences between the score and the piano reduction are clarified and discrepancies in the instrumentation, ignored by Zemlinsky in his re-workings of the piece, have been removed. Both score and parts have been reproduced in the highest quality. 


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Königl. Theater, Stuttgart (DE)
Max von Schillings

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works