Franz Schubert: Deutsche Tänze (arranged by: Anton Webern)

Franz Schubert Deutsche Tänze
Deutsche Tänze

Franz Schubert: Deutsche Tänze (arranged by: Anton Webern)

op. posth.
Catalogue number:
D 820
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for orchestra
Franz Schubert
Anton Webern (1931)
2 2 2 2 - 2 0 0 0, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
violin I
violin II
More Less


Deutsche Tänze

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Anton Webern arranged Franz Schubert’s six Deutsche Tänze for piano, D820, in 1931 for chamber orchestra, woodwind and two horns. His alterations are limited to occasional separation of the parts, bringing out the solo lines. Webern aimed to allow the structure of the work to emerge more clearly, while retaining a sound similar to Schubert’s. The result is a miracle of precision, tonal differentiation and glowingly shaded colours.

From our online shop

Special prints

Deutsche Tänze

Franz Schubert: Deutsche Tänze

full score
for orchestra , 9’
Instr.: 2 2 2 2 - 2 0 0 0, str

Next performances

03 Nov

Deutsche Tänze

National Concert Hall, Taipei (TW)

22 Nov

Deutsche Tänze

Sala koncertowa , Gdansk (PL)

26 Jan

Deutsche Tänze

Salle de Musique, La Chaux-de-Fonds (CH)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.