Arnold Schönberg: Lied der Waldtaube (arranged by: Erwin Stein)

Arnold Schönberg Lied der Waldtaube
Lied der Waldtaube

Arnold Schönberg: Lied der Waldtaube (arranged by: Erwin Stein)

Year of composition:
from "Gurre-Lieder"
reduced version
Scored for:
for medium voice and orchestra
Arnold Schönberg
Erwin Stein
3 3 4 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc, hp(2), harm, pno, str
Instrumentation details:
1. flute
2. flute
3. flute
1. oboe
2. oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
1. clarinet in A (+ cl.(Bb))
2. clarinet in A (+ cl.(Bb))
bass clarinet in A (+ bass cl.(Bb))
1. bassoon
2. bassoon
1. horn in F
2. horn in F
3. horn in F
4. horn in F
1. trumpet in F
2. trumpet in F
3. trumpet in F
1. trombone
2. trombone
3. trombone
contrabass tuba
1. harp
2. harp
violin I
violin II
More Less

Work introduction

The Song of the Wood-Dove closes part I of the Gurre-Lieder; the work was written in 1900-1911, based on the Gurresange poems by the Dane Jens Peter Jacobsen. The theme of Part I is the love-story of King Waldemar and Tove, the Wood-Dove singing in ballad-style of Tove’s death at the hands of jealous Queen Helwig, “Helwigs Falke war’s, der grausamen Gurres Taube zerriß” (“It was Helwig’s hawk who tore cruel Gurre’s dove apart”).

Motifs of reminiscence from the first nine previous songs of Part I provide the work’s structural material and another semantic layer in this section. The version for chamber orchestra seems to free the motifs from the context of their logical coherence, shifting the focus onto the motivic work of variation and combination, the short, succinct motives interweaving with the song-like element of symmetrical bar groupings. In terms of form, Schönberg thus achieves a quasi-sonata shape, in which he integrates strophe-like complexes, introduced by the recurring refrain melody, Weit flog ich, Klage sucht’ ich (“I flew afar, seeking lamentation”).

Stefanie Rauch © Arnold Schönberg Center

View the full text on the website of the Arnold Schönberg Center.

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.