COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Beat Furrer: ... cold and calm and moving

  • for flute, harp, violin, viola and violoncello
  • Duration: 25’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Beat Furrer

Work introduction

Despite the rapid, virtuosic, aggressive sections, mostly played by the three strings, …cold and calm and moving leaves the impression of endless calm and introspection. The five instruments very rarely play simultaneously; when they do, the sound seems to be coming from a much larger ensemble. The harp sets the keynote with its slow and softly repeated pitches, joined again and again by the flute. Here and there, one or the other plays alone, for itself, while the string trio always enters as a unit. The composer deploys the instruments in various combinations, suggesting the Far East now and then – a fine, sensitive sonic delineation.


World première

Konzerthaus, Wien (AT)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works