Arnold Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1 (Arranger: Anton Webern)

Arnold Schönberg Chamber Symphony No. 1
Chamber Symphony No. 1

Arnold Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1 (Arranger: Anton Webern)

op. 9
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello and piano
Arnold Schönberg
Anton Webern (1923)
Instrumentation details:
flute (2nd vln)
clarinet in A (or viola)
Table of contents:
Kammersymphonie op. 9
More Less


Chamber Symphony No. 1

Work introduction

Composed in 1906, the Chamber Symphony op. 9 for 15 solo instruments represents a high point in Schönberg’s artistic development. The reasons that motivated Schönberg as early as 1914 to arrange this Chamber Symphony for orchestra were not only related to practical performance aspects, however (enabling performance at larger concert halls), but were also connected to the fundamental problem that originated quasi-intrinsically from its hybrid position between orchestral and chamber music. The orchestral version from 1914 was never published and is now available for the first time as completely new orchestral material. A later orchestral version, which is further from the original, was produced by Schönberg when he was already in American exile.

From our online shop

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now