Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Vinden som ingenting minns

Victoria Borisova-Ollas Vinden som ingenting minns
Vinden som ingenting minns

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Vinden som ingenting minns

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for choir and orchestra
Victoria Borisova-Ollas
2 2 2 2 - 2 2 3 0 - timp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
double bass
Commissioned by Örebro Konserthus
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Vinden som ingenting minns [Wind Without Memory] for mixed choir and orchestra is based on the texts of Pär Lagerkvist´s last collection of poems Aftonland [Evening Land].

The Nobel Prize winning novelist was also one of the most important figures in the Swedish poetry of the previous century. Born in 1891, he was brought up in a strictly religious home. As the most part of Swedish intellectuals of his generation Pär Lagerkvist broke away from his Christian background later in his life. Unlike many of his colleagues though he never became ostentatiously critical of religious beliefs and symbols as such. Much of his poetry, especially Aftonland from 1953, has a clear tendency to investigate a position of human being in the world where God is no longer present.

Throughout the entire collection of poems we can feel the duplicity of that position. If the “divine” does not exist any more, why are we still trapped by the fear of its probable apparition in everyday life in form of angels, strangers clad in shining armour, dreams, memories? There is also a number of poems in Aftonland where the author brings up the subject of our fear for the situation when all the traces of human existence are falling into total oblivion – and our constant longing for it.

Victoria Borisova-Ollas

World première

Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.