COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Alexander Zemlinsky: The Birthday of the Infanta

  • New critical edition by Antony Beaumont
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(4), hp, cel, mand, guit, str; stage music: 2 cl(C), bsn, 2 hn(F), 3 tpt(C), tamb, mand, vln.I(4), vln.II(3), vla(2), vc(2), cb(1)
  • Duration: 90’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
    2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb)
    3rd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb)
    bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    violin I
    violin II
    stage music: clarinet in C(2)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    violin I(4)
    violin II(3)
  • Choir: SA
  • Roles: Donna Clara, soprano Ghita, soprano Don Estoban, high bass The Dwarf, tenor 3 Maids, 2 sopranos and 1 mezzo-soprano The playmates of the infanta, sopranos and altos Servants (silent roles)
  • Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
  • Librettist: Georg Klaren
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Oscar Wilde
  • Piano reduction: Heinrich Jalowetz
  • Editor: Antony Beaumont
Web Cover

Printed product

Alexander Zemlinsky: Der Zwerg for voices, choir and orchestra - op. 17 | UE33137

A Tragic Tale in 1 Act

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Edition info: Text by Georg C. Klaren based on Oscar Wilde's play "The birthday of the infanta"
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3016-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07728-9
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works