Dmitri Schostakowitsch: 10. Symphonie

  • in E minor
  • for orchestra
  • 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc, str
  • Duration: 50’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st piccolo
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+2ndpicc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais (+3rdob)
    clarinet in Eb (+3rdcl in B, A)
    1st clarinet in B, A
    2nd clarinet in B, A
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    contrabassoon (+3rdbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb
    2nd trumpet in Bb
    3rd trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    percussion (triangle
    snare drum
    bass drum
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Dmitri Schostakowitsch

Work introduction

The Tenth Symphony was Shostakovich’s first symphonic work since 1945 and his humiliation due to the “antiformalisitic” cleansings of 1948, during which he lost his teaching positions in Moscow and Leningrad. During the time between 1945 and Josef Stalin’s death on 5 March 1953, Shostakovich represented the Soviet Union at a number of so-called “international peace congresses.”

By 1953, a considerable number of serious works had accumulated on his shelves, either awaiting their first performances or their rehabilitation. Solomon Volkov wrote in his book “Testimony” that the Tenth Symphony was about “Stalin and the Stalin years,” a theory still being hotly debated today.

There is no more mockery and lightness in the tone of this work; the tone is of mourning and lament; the symphonic work of Tchaikovsky nears like a stylistic legacy.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Leningrad (RU)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works