COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Erik Satie: Mercure

  • for orchestra
  • 2 1 2 1 - 2 2 1 1 - perc(2), str
  • Duration: 15’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    percussion (2 players)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Erik Satie
  • Dedication: A Madame la Comtesse Etienne de Beaumont
  • Commission: Comtesse Etienne de Beaumont


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

Satie's Aventures des Mercures was commissioned by the Comte Etienne de Beaumont for a series of avant-garde theatrical performances called Les Soirées de Paris, which were produced at the Teatre de la Cigale in 1924. The designs for Mercures were by Picasso and the choreography by Massine.

The first performance was a disaster and ended in uproar. Surrealists in the audience – enthusiasts of Picasso's work – were contemptuous of Satie's music, and their anger at Picasso's co-operation with him was vociferous.

I have re-orchestrated Mercures for two reasons. Firstly, I have always felt that Satie's own orchestration has ironed out the individuality and the quirkiness which distinguish the music and I wanted to restore those qualities. My second reason is the simple one which Stravinsky gave when asked why he re-orchestrated other men's work: 'Because I love music'.

Harrison Birtwistle

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Théâtre de la Cigale, Paris (FR)
Main soloists:
Tänzer: Léonide Massine - Merkure, Vera Petrowa, Nicholas Lissanewitsch

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works