COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Ernst Krenek: 1. Klavierkonzert

  • in F# major
  • for piano and orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 2 1 0 0, str
  • Duration: 30’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    trumpet in C
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Ernst Krenek
  • Dedication: Eduard Erdmann gewidmet
  • Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:

Work introduction

By the time Eduard Erdmann (1896 – 1958) asked Krenek for a tonal piano concerto, the young composer had already embraced atonal music. But he took on the commission, seeing it as a welcome challenge, and composed the piece in F# major. The concerto begins and ends with solos for the piano – a formal device he returned to in the two subsequent piano concertos. In the general view, Schubert’s influence on Krenek did not emerge until about 1929; but Krenek acknowledged that he was already using the “tonal artifices” he had learned from Schubert when he wrote his Op. 18 concerto in 1923.

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Winterthur (CH)
Hermann Scherchen
Main soloists:
Eduard Erdmann, vln

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works