Ernst Krenek: Monolog der Stella

Ernst Krenek Monolog der Stella
Monolog der Stella

Ernst Krenek: Monolog der Stella

op. 57
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for soprano and piano
Ernst Krenek
Text author:
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
More Less


Monolog der Stella

Work introduction

Written for the Austrian singer Maria Hussa, this concert aria is a setting of a scene from Goethe’s play Stella, in which she suffers through the torments of what she believes is unrequited love until she becomes certain that “Yes, he will come.”

The music is a kind of pastiche, which Krenek himself describes as “neo-classical,” shrugging off the short piece as “superficial, silly, naïve – yet very effective.”

Special prints

Monolog der Stella

Ernst Krenek: Monolog der Stella

vocal score
for soprano and piano , 10’

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.