Friedrich Cerha: 8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

Friedrich Cerha 8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten
8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

Friedrich Cerha: 8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for string sextet
Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
1st viola
2nd viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
Philharmonie Köln
More Less


8 Sätze nach Hölderlin-Fragmenten

Work introduction

In 1994 I repeatedly read the writings of Hölderlin and noted numerous verses which appeared to me to resemble melodies. I began to increasingly stylise these tunes, as I had no intention of singing these texts. When I received the commission for the string sextet, which at the time was very much in accord with my own ideas, I began to develop musical phrases from speech. However, this type of procedure proved itself too narrow, and the result seemed to me too short winded. So I referred back to the tunes developed from Hölderlin's verses, but I used them more freely and to a more stylised degree. An exception is the last movement, which in its monotonous musical competence is completely independent from the music of the text. 

At the end, I asked myself a question that was not easy to answer; whether it is of use, and whether it would make sense, to tell the listener and the performing musician about the texts which had been my starting point, particularly as this should not be considered in any way to be programme music. I decided to do it because, not only do I consider the texts to be a reference to the emotional basis of the individual movements, but because I also wanted to be honest about the source which I did not want to be hidden from the listener. 

Friedrich Cerha

From our online shop

World première

Philharmonie Köln, Köln (DE)
Arditti String Quartet
Main soloists:
Thomas Kakuska, Viola Valentin Erben, Violoncello

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.