COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Schubert, Haas: Torso

  • after the unfinished Piano Sonata in C major D840 (1825) by Franz Schubert (1825) (1999-2000/2001)
  • for large orchestra
  • 4 3 4 4 - 5 4 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp(2), acc, sax(2), str(12 10 8 8 6)
  • Duration: 40’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+picc)
    2nd flute (+picc)
    3rd flute (+picc
    bass fl)
    alto flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st soprano saxophone in Bb (+t.sax(Bb))
    2nd soprano saxophone in Bb (+t.sax(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    piccolo trumpet in B (+tpt(Bb))
    1st trumpet in Bb
    2nd trumpet in Bb
    3rd trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba (+cb.tuba)
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    3rd percussion
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    violin I(12)
    violin II(10)
    contrabass(6, incl. 3 with 5 strings)
  • Composer: Franz Schubert Georg Friedrich Haas
  • Commission: Ein Kompositionsauftrag der Bregenzer Festspiele


Sample pages

World première

Bregenzer Festspiele, Bregenz (AT)
Wiener Symphoniker
Ulf Schirmer

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works