Giacomo Puccini: La Rondine

Giacomo Puccini La Rondine
La Rondine

Giacomo Puccini: La Rondine

Year of composition:
Giacomo Puccini
3 3 3 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(4), hp, cel, str, stage music: picc, perc, pno
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion (glockenspiel)
2nd percussion (triangle)
3rd percussion (tambourine)
4th percussion (bass drum, cymbal)
violin I
violin II
stage music: piccolo
percussion (glockenspiel, tubular bells)
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

The three-act opera La Rondine (The Swallow) was originally commissioned for the Carltheater in Vienna but, owing to the outbreak of the First World War, was only premiered in Monte Carlo in 1917. The libretto was written by Giuseppe Adami based on the German Die Schwalbe by Alfred Maria Willner and Heinz Reichert. Puccini revised the work a number of times, particularly the end of the second act, meaning that there are now three distinct versions. In the original version (1917), Magda leaves Ruggero because she believes that her dubious past does not permit her to marry him. In the second version (1920), her wish to return to the demimonde is what ultimately triggers her actions. In the third version (1921), Ruggero finds out about Magda’s past through an anonymous letter and leaves her. In spite of these differences in the storyline, the music hardly changed at all.

The setting is Paris during the Second Empire. We find Magda in the house of her wealthy patron Rambaldo, conversing with friends about love. One of the party reads her palm and tells her that one day she will fly like a swallow across the sea for love. Ruggero, a young man from the provinces, arrives in Paris for the first time. Magda’s friends suggest that he sample the nightlife in a dance club. Although irked by his conventional notions of eternal love, Magda falls for him. She parts company with her patron in order to live with Ruggero on the Riviera. However, no sooner has Ruggero had obtained consent from his parents to marry Magda, she explains to him about her old life and leaves him.

The 3rd edition, conceived in 1921–22, was not performed during Puccini’s lifetime. A fire at the Casa Sonzogno in Milan during the Second World War destroyed the score, which was restored on the basis of the surviving vocal-piano reduction by the Italian composer Lorenzo Ferrero at the request of the Teatro Regio di Torino and subsequently performed there in 1994 with the following ending: Ruggero discovers who Magda once was from an anonymous letter and decides to abandon her, since she is not worthy of his love. Despairing, Magda is left alone with her maid Lisette. Some missing pages were orchestrated by Lorenzo Ferrero (part of the Prelude, Vendeuses terzetto, Duet Magda-Rambaldo) since the original full score was not complete.

World première

Teatro Regio di Torino, Torino (IT)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.