Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 2

  • in 5 movements (1888-1894)
  • in C minor
  • revised version Stark/Kaplan
  • 4 4 5 4 - 10 6 4 1 - timp(3), perc(5), hp(4), org, str; in the distance: hn(4), tpt(4), timp(1), perc(1)
  • Duration: 80’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+3rd picc)
    2nd flute (+4th picc)
    3rd flute (+1st picc)
    4th flute (+2nd picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    3rd oboe (+1st c.a)
    4th oboe (+2nd c.a)
    1st clarinet in Eb
    2nd clarinet in Eb (+4th cl(Bb)
    1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(C)
    bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
    4th bassoon (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    5th horn in F
    6th horn in F
    7th horn in F
    8th horn in F
    9th horn in F
    10th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    3rd trumpet in F
    4th trumpet in F
    5th trumpet in F
    6th trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    4th trombone
    contrabass tuba
    1st harp(2)
    2nd harp(2)
    violin I
    violin II
    in the distance: 1st horn in F (=7th horn in orchestra)
    2nd horn in F (=8th horn in orchestra)
    3rd horn in F (=9th horn in orchestra)
    4th horn in F (=10th horn in orchestra)
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
    3rd trumpet in F
    4th trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
  • Choir: SATB
  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Editor: Renate Stark-VoitGilbert Kaplan
  • Table of contents:
    1. Satz: Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
    2. Satz: Andante comodo. Sehr gemächlich. Nie eilen
    3. Satz: In ruhig fließender Bewegung
    4. Satz: Urlicht - Sehr feierlich aber schlicht. Nicht schleppen
    5. Satz: Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend - Wieder zurückhaltend - Langsam. Misterioso

arrangements & translations

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

The fields marked with * are required

Work introduction

Sample pages

World première

Royal Albert Hall, London (GB)
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Gilbert Kaplan
Main soloists:
Sally Matthews, Soprano, Karen Cargill, MS; Crouch End Festival Chorus, Brighton Festival Chorus, Southend Festival Chorus

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works