Ian Wilson: from the Book of Longing

  • for violin and piano
  • Duration: 10’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Ian Wilson
  • Commission: Commissioned by Catherine Leonard with funds from the Arts Council of Ireland


World première

Concertgebouw, Amsterdam (NL)
Main soloists:
Catherine Leonard, vln, Maria Kulakowska, pno

Press reviews

“The unusual allure of ‘from the Book of Longing’ was inspired by the New Testament account of the temptation of Christ in the desert. Wilson chose a tangled tango to stand for the temptation, with music of slower sensuality around it, and he teases the ear with many evocative moments in which the music seems just about to – but never does – launch into something familiar.”

(The Irish Times, 28 January 2002. Catherine Leonard, vln, Charles Owen, pno. Mostly Modern Series, Dublin)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works