COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Jenö Takács: Eisenstädter Divertimento

  • Suite (1961/1962)
  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 1 0 - timp, perc(2), hp, str
  • Duration: 11’10”
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 2 2 2 - 4 2 1 0 - timp, perc(2) - hp - str
  • Composer: Jenö Takács
  • Table of contents:
  • Dedication: Dem Burgenland und seinen Landsleuten gewidmet

Work introduction

The work is subtitled “Siegendorf and Cincinnati;” it is dedicated to Burgenland and its populace.

Although Eisenstadt is famous because of Haydn, who was conductor and composer at Prince Esterházy’s court for many years, this divertimento bears no relation to Haydn’s work. It is based on motifs and musical fragments Takács found in a notebook dated 1689, which is housed today in the Sopron Museum. However, the composition is not an arrangement; the old motifs are much more the source of its inspiration. Its musical style, not at all modern, reflects Takács’ penchant for breathing new, modern life into old material. It reminds him of the “gently rolling hills of Burgenland, the great, smooth Neusiedlersee,” his homeland.


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works