COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Josef Bohuslav Foerster: Konzert

  • in C minor
  • for violin and orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 0 - timp, hp, cel, tr, str
  • Duration: 35’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in F
    2nd trumpet in F
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    violin I
    violin II
    double bass
  • Composer: Josef Bohuslav Foerster
  • Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:

Work introduction

Composed in Vienna in 1911, the Violin Concerto by Joseph Bohuslav Foerster should have become a repertory work long ago. It is late Romantic music par excellence, with sadly sweet, gentle melodies that are easily remembered and sweeping, virtuoso passages. It is no wonder, therefore, that the great Czech violinist Jan Kubelík included this 30-minute composition in his repertoire. 


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Hippodrome, New York (US)
Main soloists:
Jan Kubelík, vln

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works