COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Canticum novissimi testamenti

  • Ballata (1989-1991)
  • for 4 clarinets, saxophone quartet and 8 voices
  • cl(Eb), 2 cl(Bb), bass cl(Bb), sop.sax, alto sax, t.sax, bar.sax
  • Duration: 23’
  • Instrumentation details:
    cl(Eb), 2 cl(Bb), bass cl(Bb), soprano sax(Bb), alto sax(Eb), tenor sax(Bb), bar.sax(Eb)
  • Choir: 2S, 2A, 2T, 2B
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Text author: Edoardo Sanguineti
  • Original language: Italian
  • Translator: Birgid Schlichting
  • Dedication: a Massimo Mila in memoriam

Work introduction

As with a number of his other compositions (e.g. Passaggio, Aronne, Calmo), Berio was inspired by a poem by Edoardo Sanguineti (1930-2010). Berio was fascinated by what he saw as its “echo-chamber of memory, where aspects of the mundane, the universal, the banal and the speculative, the personal and the poetic all meld in a strict and sometimes unsparing construction.”

The result is a unique piece of music, a strange, highly original world shaped by Berio’s imagination and enriched with recollections of ancient Italian literary and musical genres, including Monteverdi’s.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Paris (FR)
Ensemble Intercontemporain
Pierre Boulez
Main soloists:
Raschèr Saxophone Quartet

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works