Luciano Berio: Corale

  • [su ‘sequenza VIII’] (1981)
  • for violin, 2 horns and strings
  • 2 hn(F), str(at least 6 6 4 4 3)
  • Duration: 15’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    violin I(min. 6)
    violin II(min. 6)
    viola(min. 4)
    violoncello(min. 4)
    contrabass(min. 3)
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: pour Maya et Paul Sacher, affectueusement

Work introduction

Perhaps Corale should actually be called Chemins; it is based on the same essentials as Berio’s other “commentaries” on his Sequenze. Although he had a special affinity for the violin – he called Corale a kind of homage to that instrument – he did not write a full-fledged violin concerto.

Yet despite its rather small number of players and its short duration, Corale could still be considered a violin concerto. The music travels over chequered landscapes, Berio giving a patina to the solo violin part with touches of playing techniques gleaned from musical history.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Zürich (CH)
Collegium Musicum Zürich
Paul Sacher
Main soloists:
Carlo Chiarappa

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works