Luciano Berio: Luftklavier

  • from "6 Encores" (1985)
  • for piano
  • Duration: 2’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Remarks: Published in UE33013 "6 Encores".

arrangements & translations

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

This piece sounds like an excerpt from a larger work – and in fact Berio originally intended it as a sketch for Concerto II for piano and two ensembles, which he took up three years later. Luftklavier demands great pianistic virtuosity; two layers of differing character must be controlled simultaneously. This is polyphonic music of great complexity, with an interwoven melody of sonic garlands.


World première

Firenze (IT)
Main soloists:
P. Nardi

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works