COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Alexander Zemlinsky: Kammersymphonie

(Arranger: Richard Dünser)

  • for 14 soloinstruments or chamber orchestra
  • 1 2 2 1 - 2 0 0 0, basset hn, vln, vln, vla, vc, cb
  • Duration: 40’
  • Instrumentation details:
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    clarinet in A
    basset horn
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    double bass
  • Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
  • Arranger: Richard Dünser

Work introduction

The instrumentation is exactly the same as Schönberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1 (without contrabassoon). This means that the two works can be ideally combined. The original – Zemlinsky’s String Quartet No. 2, used as a starting point by Richard Dünser – is dedicated to Schönberg and contains allusions to the famous fourths in Schönberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1. Stylistically speaking, it is not infrequently influenced by early Schönberg and late Mahler, but – needless to say – it is for the most part vintage Zemlinsky. It is possible to perform this work not only as a version for 14 solo instruments but also with string sections, i.e. with a large chamber orchestra or a small orchestra.


Sample pages

World première

Musikverein, Wien (AT)
Ensemble Kontrapunkte
Peter Keuschnig

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works