Robert Schumann: Frauenliebe und Leben (arranged by: Conrad Artmüller)

Robert Schumann Frauenliebe und Leben
Frauenliebe und Leben

Robert Schumann: Frauenliebe und Leben (arranged by: Conrad Artmüller)

op. 42
transposed version
Scored for:
for alto and orchestra
Robert Schumann
Conrad Artmüller (2005)
1 1 2 2 - 2 0 0 0, str
Instrumentation details:
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
violin I
violin II
More Less

Availability of the hire materials is not guaranteed! Start an inquiry

Work introduction

I have often accompanied Schumann’s Frauenliebe und Leben as a pianist at Lieder evenings, and the dramaturgy of the cycle up to its abrupt and lethal ending fascinates me still. But why arrange the work for orchestra, now, 165 years after it was written? In “Frauenliebe“, in contrast to Schumann's “Myrten“ or “Liederkreis“, the piano part is not arranged in a particularly “pianistic“ way,  but contains tonal colours and accents which in some ways might be better realised by an orchestra – in any case, I have always “heard“ the orchestra while performing the work.

The idea was to give Schumann's work the full tonal spectrum of the orchestra, paying strict attention to the original and without changing a note – with the question of how Schumann himself might have orchestrated the piece always at the front of my mind. Some adaptations had to be made, of course – the orchestra has no pedal, which meant that some notes (mostly in the bass) had to be extended, or longer held chords in the piano part had to be shortened to avoid distracting dissonances.

The orchestral version allows both concert organisers and performers the possibility of presenting Frauenliebe und Leben to a new audience as part of an orchestral concert.

Conrad Artmüller

World première

Musikverein, Wien (AT)
Mödlinger Symphonisches Orchester
Conrad Artmüller
Main soloists:
Gabriele Sima, MS

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.