COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Canticum novissimi testamenti

  • Ballata (1989-1991)
  • for 4 clarinets, saxophone quartet and 8 voices
  • cl(Eb), 2 cl(Bb), bass cl(Bb), sop.sax, alto sax, t.sax, bar.sax
  • Duration: 23’
  • Instrumentation details:
    cl(Eb), 2 cl(Bb), bass cl(Bb), soprano sax(Bb), alto sax(Eb), tenor sax(Bb), bar.sax(Eb)
  • Choir: 2S, 2A, 2T, 2B
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Text author: Edoardo Sanguineti
  • Original language: Italian
  • Translator: Birgid Schlichting
  • Dedication: a Massimo Mila in memoriam
Web Cover

Printed product

Luciano Berio: Canticum novissimi testamenti for 8 voices, 4 clarinets and saxophone quartet | UE34819


  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Languages: Italian
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7078-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08411-9
Product available


Berio's major work for four clarinets, four saxophones, and eight voices (1989-1991) is built upon the "anti-poetry" of Edoardo Sanguinetti, "Novissimum Testamentum," and is now published in the new handsome edition. 142pp. Dur.: 24'

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works