COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Kurt Weill: The New Orpheus

  • Cantata (1925)
  • for soprano, solo violin and orchestra
  • based on the text of the Kurt Weill Edition
  • 2 2 2 2 - 0 2 2 0 - timp, perc(2), hp, vla(12), vc(12), cb(8)
  • Duration: 18’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    viola I(6)
    viola II(6)
    violoncello I(6)
    violoncello II(6)
  • Composer: Kurt Weill
  • Editor: Andreas Eichhorn
  • Text author: Ivan Goll
  • Dedication: für Lotte Leonard
  • Remarks: based on the text of the critically edited full score, Kurt Weill Edition, Ser. II, Vol. 2
Web Cover

Printed product

Kurt Weill: Der neue Orpheus (The New Orpheus) for soprano, solo violin and piano - op. 16 | UE35049


  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Languages: German
  • Edition info: According to the complete Kurt Weill Edition (Series II, Volume 2 )
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7147-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08478-2
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works