Kurt Weill: Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny

  • Opera in 3 acts (1930)
  • 2 1 1 2 - 2 3 2 1 - s.sax, alto sax, t.sax, timp, perc, pno, bass guit, bjo, band, str - on stage: zith, pno, 3 vl
  • Duration: 140’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+2ndpicc
    on stage)
    2nd flute (+1st picc
    on stage)
    clarinet in B and A (+on stage)
    soprano saxophone in Bb (+bar.sax(Eb)
    on stage)
    alto saxophone in Eb (+on stage)
    tenor saxophone in Bb (+on stage)
    1st bassoon (+on stage)
    2nd bassoon (+cbsn
    on stage)
    1st horn in F (+on stage)
    2nd horn in F (+on stage)
    1st trumpet in Bb (+on stage)
    2nd trumpet in Bb (+on stage)
    3rd trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone (+on stage)
    2nd trombone (+on stage)
    bass tuba (+on stage)
    percussion (+on stage)
    bass guitar
    banjo (+hawaii guit
    on stage)
    bandoneon (+on stage)
    piano (+harm ad lib.)
    double bass
    on stage: zither
    3 violins
  • Choir: SATB
  • Roles: Leokadja Begbick, mezzosoprano Fatty, tenore Dreieinigkeitsmoses, baritone Jenny Hill, soprano Jimmy Mahoney, tenore Jack O'Brien, tenore Bill, baritono Joe, basso Tobby Higgins, tenore six girls and the men from Mahagonny
  • Composer: Kurt Weill
  • Librettist: Bertolt Brecht
Web Cover

Printed product

Kurt Weill: Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny  | UE35318

Opera in 3 acts

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Languages: German
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7059-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08392-1
Product available

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works