COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Luciano Berio: Sequenza VIII

  • for violin
  • Duration: 15’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Table of contents:
    Sequenza VIII per violin solo
  • Dedication: a Carlo Chiarappa
  • Commission: Commissioned by Serena de Bellis
Web Cover

Printed product

Luciano Berio: Sequenza VIII for violin | UE15990

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Grade: 7-8
  • Format: 27.2 × 39.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1761-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04395-6
Product available


Beside the drama created between the soloist and his instrument, the sequenza for violin is permeated with two other dramatic opposites: the tension between a central tone, "A", which is the germ or pivot point for all the material in the first part of the piece, and the "rival central tone", "B", which for a while appears to be taking over the roll of "A". There is also a contrast between the chromatic, "atonal" clusters, chords and leaping or winding melodies on the one hand, and the tonal-sounding intervals and chords on the other: a play with and against the expectations of the listener, a musical suspense story.


  • Sequenza VIII per violin solo


Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works