COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Franz Schubert: Arpeggione

  • for violin and piano
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Christa JostGerhart Darmstadt
  • Table of contents:
    Allegro moderato
Web Cover

Printed product

Franz Schubert: Sonata for Arpeggione and piano for violin and piano D 821 | UT50420

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Grade: 5-7
  • Format: 23.1 × 30.3 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-782-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-403-3
Product available


Franz Schubert’s Sonata in A minor D. 821 was originally written for piano and arpeggione, an instrument of the 1820s combining features of the guitar and the cello. This instrument was in use for just a short period of time, so that the composition has now become standard repertoire for cello and piano, and this is the version presented here.
A handwritten violin part in the hand of Anton Diabelli kept by the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris, however, shows that the sonata’s arpeggione part was initially arranged for violin, long before the first print in 1871 introduced the well-known version for cello and piano. Wiener Urtext also publishes Diabelli’s arrangement for violin and piano in a separate edition.
Both editions are essentially based on Schubert’s autograph, the cello part in principle relies on the first printed edition of 1871, the violin part is based on Diabelli’s arrangement. 


  • Allegro moderato
  • Adagio
  • Allegretto

Download for this product

For those who play the arpeggione you may download for free a separate arpeggione part.


(...) The essential spirit and unique poetry of Schubert has been retained in these sensitively edited texts.
Strings Magazine, No.273 January 2018 (Mary Nemet)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works